“A pact was formed.The pact must be honored.”

I rose in the cold of the morning and surveyed the land. All seemed well. Except…

Something caught my eye. A great beast sat on the horizon, thrice as large as the one I recently fell. 

I could not see his eyes, but a needle sat upon its tail, ready to pierce my side. It flexed its muscular body as I approached. 

“You don’t belong here,” I called to it. 

It’s voice was a hiss. “A pact was formed,” it said. “The pact must be honored.” 

“A pact among who?” 

“A pact among beasts.”

“I see,” I said. What needed to be done was clear. My body felt fresh in the morning air and the sun was behind me. 

I closed the distance between us in a single bound and brought my hammer down. The life left him with little more than a gasp. 

(This time my foe was a wasp. How did it get in my room?? Either way… I ended this encounter swiftly.)

Art by Lanasy

Leave a comment